How do the 123-reg Renewal Reminders work?

This article applies to your 123-reg Account.

This article is about the 123-reg Renewal Reminder process, as of April 2013.

The renewal reminder process is designed to enable you to quickly and easily renew your products and services, without disruption or down time to your services.

To ensure the quick and easy renewal of your products, 123-reg utilises an auto renewal system, meaning that your services remain fully updated and available to you.

Tip: The auto renewal system makes use of payment details you store on your 123-reg Account. If you would like to change these details, or add new ones, this article will show you how.

Each customer will receive a renewal reminder in advance of their package's billing date. The Billing Date is the date we will attempt take payment to renew your packages. For yearly billing period, you will receive your reminder 30 days ahead of your billing date. If you are on a monthly billing period, you will receive it 7 days ahead of your billing date. 

Please note: Your billing date is reliant on the type of package you are renewing, and which payment method you are using.

Some domain name extensions will change your billing period as the registrant of the domain name requires the additional time to perform the renewal.

SSL Certificates also need an early renewal period to maintain its service level.  

Payments made by Direct Debit are requested 15 days early in order to process the payment in time for the renewal.

Once the renewal has been processed, you will receive a renewal confirmation and invoice, showing you the product or service that has been renewed (as well as the domain name the service is linked to), the price including VAT, and the payment method.

Payment details failed

If your current payment details fail, we will reattempt renewal again. Should this fail, then seven days after the expiry date, your package will be suspended. Payment will be attempted three more times; should the renewal fail each time, then after 28 days, your service will be deleted. 

Upon each instance of a failed payment, you will receive an email notification informing you that we have tried to take payment, but have been unsuccessful. 

At any point you can access your account at where you can complete a manual renewal.

Please note: If you do not have Card details stored on your account, you will receive an overdue notice. We will continue to check to see if you have added card details to your account, and you will receive an overdue notice. 

To find out how to update your card details, or to add details of other payment methods, read this article


Answer options

Your feedback was successfully added.

Answer tracking


Watch the content of this article for changes.