How do I point my domain name at the 123 Reg Holding page?

This article will help you to set up your Domain Name to point at the 123 Reg Holding page.

If you’re not using a domain but want to keep hold of it so you may use it later, you can point it to the 123 Reg holding page. That way, if anyone stumbles across your domain then they will see some content, rather than a blank page.

To do this, you’ll first need to make sure that your domain isn’t locked or has the Domain Ownership Protection service enabled. For details on how to do this, please read our Support articles:

You’ll also need to ensure your domain is pointed to the 123 Reg nameservers. Otherwise, any configurations you’ve made to the DNS through our Control Panel will not take effect.

You will need to set your DNS at your nameserver provider. For more information on how to do this, please view the following article: How do I change the nameservers for my domain name?

Please note: it will take between 24-48 hours for any new nameserver changes to become active.

Furthermore, upon completing this task, your DNS record will be set to our default forwarding IP address (94.136.40.82), meaning that the domain will no longer point at the website it was previously showing.

Step 1 of 6

Start by logging in to your 123 Reg Control Panel.

 

Step 2 of 6

From there, select your desired domain from the drop-down menu within the Manage Active Products section and click Manage.

Alternatively, you can scroll down to the Domain names section and select the relevant domain name from the drop-down menu. Once selected, click Manage.

Select Manage

 

Step 3 of 6

Scroll down to the Advanced Domain Settings section and click Manage DNS.

Click Manage DNS

 

Step 4 of 6

Select Change within the Website Settings (A Records) section.

Select Change

 

Step 5 of 6

Choose 123 Reg Holding/Forwarding from the drop-down list. From there, select Point to service.

Choose Holding

 

Step 6 of 6

A pop-up window will appear, asking if you wish to confirm your changes. Click Confirm to complete the process.

Confirm Changes